Virtual Machine Meetup

Registration

Participation is free of charge. Please use the following link to register for the conference for free:

VMM'21 Zoom Registration

Call for Participation at the VMM2021

The 7th Virtual Machine Meetup (VMM '2021) is a venue for discussing the latest research and developments in the area of managed language execution. It will be held on September 30th and is co-located with the 18th International Conference on Managed Programming Languages & Runtimes (MPLR'21). We welcome presentations of new research results, experience reports, as well as position statements that can lead to interesting discussions.

Add event to you calender

Topics

Topics include, but are not limited to:

Schedule

Times are in CET (GMT+1). Program starts at 7:30am San Francisco, 10:30am New York, 4:30pm Vienna, 10:30pm Beijing, 11:30pm Tokyo.

Thursday, September 30th, 2021
16:30-16:40 Welcome & Introduction
Thomas Würthinger (Oracle Labs, GraalVM Project Lead)
16:40-17:10 The Importance of Optimising Little Languages
Chris Seaton (Shopify)
17:15-17:30 Practical Experience with TRegex and Ruby
Kevin Menard (Shopify)
17:35-18:05 Verifying expression graph optimisations in tree form
Ian J. Hayes, Mark Uttin, and Brae J. Webb (University of Queensland)
18:10-18:40 Program Optimization using Data Analysis
Sebastian Kloibhofer, and Lukas Makor (JKU Linz)
18:40-19:00 Break
19:00-19:30 Exploiting Dynamic Run-time Data with TruffleSqueak
Fabio Niephaus (Hasso Pattner Institute, Oracle Labs)
19:35-19:50 How do we do Benchmarking? Impressions from Conversations with the Community.
Stefan Marr (University of Kent)
19:50-20:20 Discussion
20:20-20:30 Closing words
Thomas Würthinger (Oracle Labs, GraalVM Project Lead)

Participation

Participation is free of charge! To participate, please register ( VMM'21 Zoom Registration) so we can prepare accordingly.

Important dates

Program committee